The Concealer Files: Bobbi Brown Corrector

Bobbi Brown Corrector (Light Bisque)

 When I filmed my neutral makeup look I realized that it’s kind of ridiculous how many different concealers I use every day! So this post is the first in a series dedicated entirely to one of my most obsessed over, loved/hated, sought-after makeup items: concealers.

Bobbi Brown’s Corrector has to be the most hyped makeup item that I own! I heard so much about the amazing under eye camouflaging abilities of this corrector on blogs/youtube that I finally bit the bullet and shelled out the $22 for a tiny pot of the stuff. It’s designed to be used under Bobbi Brown’s Creamy Concealer (which will make your wallet another $22 lighter), but I just use it on it’s own or under a little bit of my Milani HD Advanced Concealer (review on this coming soon).

My first impression was bad – I thought it was a weird color, too thick, too creasey and just overall wrong. I used it for a couple of weeks and after constantly having to blend the creases after an hour of wear, I threw it in the back of my makeup drawer in frustration. How could this be so popular? I didn’t get it. Up until then I had been using much lighter, more liquidly concealers for my eyes, like the Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circle Eye Roller or simply my foundation so I wasn’t used to the super concentrated, thick consistency of the Corrector.

Luckily, I recently gave it another chance – because, guys, I think I’m in love! The product has definitely dried up since I first used it because it seems like the creamy and the creasing problem that I used to have has decreased significantly. I also learned the proper technique is to only  apply a VERY thin layer of product with my ring finger and my super dark circles are magically neutralized! More importantly, it’s pretty much the only product that will cover my weird blue-ish skin on the side of my nose between my eyes (hard to describe, but it’s where your glasses sit on your nose) I have been super self-conscious about that ever since my best friend in high school looked at me in confusion one day and asked if I had eyeshadow on my nose! Ugh, must we remember such trivial embarrassments all our lives?!

The packaging is very simple and sleek which I like, but I find that the shiny black plastic gets smudged with product pretty easily (as you can see in the second picture). Nothing nearly as bad as some packaging (NARS, I’m looking at you) but I still find myself being a little more careful than usual to not get my grubby fingerprints all over it. I love the fact that it has a mirror. I use the mirror to apply the product in the morning so that I can get really close or easily go over to the window to get some natural light, but it’s also super handy to have a little mirror in my purse for quick touch ups.

Overall, this is a fantastic product that I would recommend to pretty much anyone who struggles with dark under eye circles. Although $22 is more than drugstore prices, I find that a little bit goes a long way and it actually gets better as it ages so it will probably last me all year. Holy grail status? I rarely re-purchase concealers because I’m so addicted to finding the next perfect thing, so I’m not really sure if I’ll buy this product again. But it’s not you Bobbi Brown Corrector, it’s me.

=^_^=

Meg

