The Concealer Files: My Favorite Drugstore Concealers

Products Mentioned:

Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circle Roller: When I was living in Canada I could easily find the roller for fair skin, but in the US there only seems to be the one shade fits all type. Up until last month I was using the (deservedly hyped) Garnier Eye Roller as a quick and easy under eye concealer, but lately I’ve been grabbing my Bobbi Brown corrector most days. It is quite a pale yellow tone and the consistency is nice and light. It doesn’t feel like you have something on your skin when you are wearing it, which I really like. The metal roller isn’t something that I would normally go for, but it actually works really well! I like the cooling feeling it has when I put it directly on my skin. I wish it came in more shades, but for now I still use this eye roller on lazy days when I don’t feel like spending much time on my makeup but I still want to look more awake.

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer in 60 Brightener: This is the latest addition to my concealer collection and I have mixed feelings about it. I really like that it’s peachy-pink toned because that helps to brighten my eyes much better than yellow toned concealers, but the consistency and coverage aren’t perfect. I’d like it to be a little bit more pigmented, but it’s definitely been a staple in my everyday makeup routine lately. I think it would work really well for people who don’t have crazy dark circles like I do. Give it a try if you are looking for a non-yellow toned under eye concealer.

Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer in 1 Fair: I really enjoy the excellent high coverage and drier consistency of this concealer. Perfect for covering acne, spots and redness (like around my nose) but it’s way too dry for my under eye area. The shade range is limited, but luckily they made one that’s pale enough for me! It lasts a LONG time but the dry consistency can make certain spots look flakey/patchy after a while. Overall, this is my HG conceal for spots right now!

Revlon Age Defying Moisturizing Concealer in Light: This is supposed to be for under your eyes, but I find the yellow shade works quite well as a spot concealer! It’s very pigmented, like the Collection 2000 concealer, but the consistency is a little bit wetter. It does a good job at covering acne that looks too crusty and dried out with the Collection 2000 concealer. I like the packaging too. It’s small and easy to carry in my makeup bag.

Milani HD Advanced Concealer in 01: This is more of a brightener/illuminator than a concealer, although it does have some concealing properties. I find that it creases too much under my eyes, but it is perfect as a really natural brow bone highlighter. I have very pale, almost translucent skin all around my eyes so it really helps to even out my skin tone and cover blue-ish toned veins. The color leans a little towards the yellow side rather than pink, so it makes my tired eyes look less reddish and looks much more natural than a white highlighter. The consistency is nice and smooth, with a bit of slip, which I prefer because it doesn’t age my eyes or make my skin look crepey/droopy.

Revlon ColorStay Foundation for Oily Skin in 150 Buff: This is an honorable mention, since it’s technically a foundation, but I find in a pinch it works quite well on redness, acne and even under eye circles. This foundation/concealer has been a favorite of mine for years – I can’t even count how many bottles I’ve gone through.  My closest shade (150 Buff) is funny, it’s sort of grayish/yellow toned without any pink/peachy tones. I used to wear it as a foundation, but lately I’ve found that it’s too obvious and cake-facey. Now, I’ll mix it with equal parts foundation to moisturizer to create  DIY tinted moisturizer or I’ll use it in small amounts on spots. The coverage is the highest I’ve found in a drugstore foundation and it is super long lasting. Like really, really long lasting. You could sleep in this stuff and it would still be there the next morning (don’t try this at home kiddos!). Watch out for flash photography though, because this stuff will show up white!

=^_^=

meg

